Well, here we go…

The whole family is up and awake  early. Well, not really. The boys and dad are on the couch. The boys are barley awake, dad thinks he ‘s got strep throat, bummer. Mom is on the chair under a thick blanket, it’s a little cold at the Bjerkanders this morning. My daughter is fixing herself breakfast in the kitchen. Sleepy, morning hoarse voices in a sleepy but committed choir share the daily office morning prayer. It’s beautiful…simple…we are giving ourselves lots of grace for this. I am amazed at how quickly the kids have picked up on  this. My daughter has already memorized morning prayer. The busyness of life is closing in with going to school and work, lunch boxes to be made, Monday is definitely here…

~ by Rickard on October 22, 2007.

3 Responses to “Well, here we go…”

  1. Way to go, Rickard. You’ll find, I trust, that it’s not performance that matters, or the feelings that we normally associate with being spiritual. Instead, it’s the spontaneous moments later in the day where God breaks in on your heart, or breaks out of you into someone else’s life, a moment you wouldn’t have been prepared for had it not been for bleary-eyed prayers in the morning. Blessings, bro. (By the way, it was nice to meet you guys this past week)

  2. Thanks man, it’s weird for me, a recovering entertainmentaholic, to slow down and find myself in simplicity. But it’s cool, I may not have found “myself”in simplicity but there’s a lot of other things I have found there so I’m good. Do you blog?

  3. Rickard,
    I’ve been talking to the kids about the daily office, introducing it. I think it’s a great idea to do the office with the family but I haven’t figured out exactly how to slot it in. Will probably start making a few attempts this week to find a rhythm that works for us — I’d be interested in hearing your experiences on this as well.

Leave a Reply

 
