Post-Charismatic

I have a love-hate relationship with this phrase. I am trying my hardest to just call myself a follower of Jesus and not add a bunch of stuff after that. The people I hang around with would not know what “emergent/missional, recovering evangelical, slightly catholic, somewhat Mennonite, Monastic Christian anyway so it feels pointless. But “Post-charismatic” does something for me. Again, it’s not so much descriptive as it is a word the I throw around in my  and heart to challenge myself and stir imagination around what I believe. So here is where I’m at;

  • I don’t think miracles and healing are at the core and center of the New Testament as I used to think
  • There is a massive amount of sadness around many of the miracles that Jesus performed, in that seemingly at the Crucifixion, many maybe most of the people who had been healed, were no where to be found. Just a hand full of believers stayed with Jesus.
  • I don’t see a strong connection with healing and spiritual formation anymore
  • In our me-me-me-culture the healing /miracle thing gets so whacky
  • I am questioning “Power-evangelism” these day’s and can’t except it as being the only thing we need to worry about and the central thing to our faith

So, there are some of the things I’m wrestling with. I come from a Charismatic Back ground via the Vineyard and some other “camps”.

~ by Rickard on November 6, 2007.

4 Responses to “Post-Charismatic”

  1. Good points, Rickard. I’m not from a charismatic background, but suspect I have more Pneumatology in my theology than the typical post-mainliners and post-Bapists. Over the years I’ve had to “up” the percentage of focus on the Holy Spirit to get more into alignment with the emphasis in Scripture, while it makes sense that charismatics have needed to “get down” with the Holy Spirit, so to speak … oops – well, they already get down with the Spirit; so guess it’s really that they need to get the percentage of focus down! All of us have work to do to move into the dynamic tension that goes with finding the balancepoint.

    Meanwhile … I think the power-evangelism thing fits more in context with people who believe in supernatural power stuff, which is gradually becoming more prominent in the West. It’s a pity that some have over-emphasized this in attempts to reach rationalist people, who understandably would just roll their eyes and wonder what planet we’re from … even though hyperrationalists don’t believe in alien abduction/implantation, I suppose.

    The end.

  2. Trust me, Rickard, you’re post-charismatic. A good friend of mine, Rob McAlpine has written the book. Really. I remember many conversations together and a lot of emails exchanged as I read early drafts… it’s good stuff. If you should happen to bump into Todd Hunter in your neck of the woods someplace, he should be able to provide you with another character reference for Rob ;^)

    We recently did an issue of the “Porpoise Diving Life” examining the question of charismata intersecting with missional practice; Rob has archived all of it as well. I did a piece that was sort of on missional power evangelism, and co-wrote one on reimagining the prophetic ministry.

    A lot of this is conversation-starter material… we’ve found that folks in the emerging church don’t want to talk about the charismata much. At the same time as we want to leave behind all the excesses, we don’t want to leave behind the Holy Spirit.

    “Post-charismatic” = “Yeah, that’s been part of the journey.”

  3. Hey Rickard,

    Same thing here. I would consider myself a post-charismatic also. I have been considering writing a blog post about it but like you I don’t like titles and I think we are a bit posted out.

    I certainly believe in the gifts of the Spirit but I don’t believe that that should be the center of our faith or church life. Still a problem in many of the churches in Sweden influenced by the New Wine movement.

    I am also very tired of the prophetic movement although I still believe in the prophetic if it is authentic. I keep telling these people to “put Christ back in the center of the Church”. They are to busy prophesying to hear that prophetic word.

    peace

  4. Wrestle on, bro. It is a constant process of advancing and retreating, isn’t it…as we learn and then learn more about what we learned and then learn something other than we had previously learned!

    Balancepoint, indeed, Brad!

Leave a Reply

 
