Jesus Ad

Driving home from work yesterday, doing my little “on-my-way-home-from-work” ritual. I basically just scream a little, cry a bit, pray some and try to shake off some of the dust of the day, when I heard this Jesus Ad on the Christian Radio Station, or as I like to call it, The Radio Station That Plays Songs That Sometimes Has Words Like Jesus And God In Them, (I don’t know what makes a song Christian). This ad, with very catchy music in the background, had a quasi-sentimental message about how Jesus can be a friend you can trust in. Maybe this is my own problem but this stuff makes me sick. I don’t really know why, but it does. The situation got drastically worse because shortly after that ad there was an ad for a call in deal where you could win a $1000 shopping spree at the mall of America followed by the overwhelming good news of that the winner could spend some time with some Christian Artists. This was communicated in the same sort of excitement that you would hear on other radio stations where people would get to met Madonna or Britney Spears. My wife has told me to temper my thoughts and feelings about the Christian Music Industry, if that is what that Industry is, so I will not go any further on that, I’ll focus on this radio deal.

I guess that covers Christmas. A shallow little message of someone named Jesus in a nauseating mass of consumerism glorification. *&%^$#@@%$^&*&*^%$$^&*^^(&^%$##%^&**^%^&**^^

I just erased a bunch of angry stuff I decided not to write. I am grabbing a Christmas tree ornament and gently rocking back and forth I am mumbling to myself, “It will all be ok, It will all be ok…

~ by Rickard on November 30, 2007.

4 Responses to “Jesus Ad”

  1. I am so with you, bro…The Abbess regularly has to put her virtual ruler back in her virtual pocket lest she break it over the knuckles of those who just don’t get it…and all that I would get for it is a broken ruler and a charge of assault. Sigh…

    But, to quote my favorite line, AGAIN, “It will all work out.” “How?” “I don’t know; it’s a mystery!”

    And so it will and is…

    Be blessed.

  2. And a Merry Christmas to you too my love… Do you people out there see what I have to live with? BAHUMBUG!!!!!! I love you honey, even if you are the GRINCH who stole Christmas

  3. This is why I don’t listen to those radio stations – it’s all too nauseating. And I identify with the over-reaction to all the commercial crap — I’d just as soon opt out of Christmas altogether. I’m trying hard this year to avoid the shopping/kitsch etc. and focus on the anticipation of Advent. Does it make you the Grinch when someone else stole Christmas and replaced it with some plastic junk, and we just refuse to go along with the game?

  4. Maria, I was making a joke, because Rickard & I talk about this every year. I love Christmas, & I love giving gifts. I know that it has become totally about consumerism. But I think I can know, & teach my kids about the true meaning of the holiday, and still celebrate by gift giving. I guess I shouldn’t have aired our dirty laundry, so to speak, on his blog, but it was an attempt to poke fun, not offend. So, please don’t be offended and think I don’t understand your point of view, because I do;-)

Leave a Reply

 
