Lessons from Teens in trouble

A police officer stopped by the teen center today. He’s a great guy who totally understands and is behind what we do at our teen center. He talked to the teens that were there and he asked them how many of them had seen a person in uniform this year in not so “friendly” circumstances. They all raised their hands. He asked them how many had been in hand cuffs this year and two thirds raised their hands. He was a little taken back by that. Together we had a short little time of hope together somehow, a moment where no one needed to hide, no one needed to pretend to be someone they weren’t, we were honest and for a moment at least it was all good. The police officer in some way, brought us hope. He was encouraging and not judgmental. Kind and scary at the same time. He is representing the law. He carries a badge and a gun. It was cool to see him interact with the teens and I was reminded of a short dialouge from The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe;

Lucy: Is he… safe?
Mr. Beaver: Safe? Don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Of course he isn’t safe… but… he’s GOOD… He’s the King.

So I think I learned something from the teens I work with and this Police officer today; I do serve a scary God, there are things about Him that frightens me. There are things about Him that fill me with fear, but He is good. Not in a “I’ll give you whatever-you-want-whenever-you-want-it” kind of good but good in His own very unique way. He is good and just. Strangely enough I do need to approach him in honesty. Be who I am. Not pretend I am better or worse. Just who I am. Just like the teens did today and a lot like the Police officer today, God, will gently nudge me towards change, encourage me, inspire me…Hmm I got to reflect upon this thing a little

~ by Rickard on December 18, 2007.

One Response to “Lessons from Teens in trouble”

  1. You are such a good writer, bro. There’s gonna be a book at the end of this blog (or perhaps the middle of the blog). You remind me often of why we are in this “thang”.

    Hugs to Lori and kids. (And Lori’s no slouch in the writing department, either. A lot of talent in that home of yours.)

Leave a Reply

 
