Happy New Year and all that stuff…

Wow, that came and went fast. Felt like I took a deep breath to prepare for Christmas and then as I exhaled it was 2008. I am exited about this new year however. New Years resolutions? Nopp, except for I won’t be posting things like “I’ll comment on this tomorrow” or “I’ll comment on this later” simply because my attention span is really short and I’ll read something that stirred me and then the next day I can’t remember.

My wife and I have been talking about what it means to be saved. I think because of a discussion over on Mr. Kinnon’s blog. So as I am pondering on that at the moment I’ll make some comments.

Being saved. If you would have asked me five years ago I would have answered with certainty and stacked up all kinds of theories and “truths” to build a crystal clear picture. That has changed. I know that will frustrate some, confuse others and maybe anger a few but I want to be as honest as I can, so there it is, I am not as convinced and super clear on what it means to be saved as I used to be.

Now I don’t think I am clueless about it. I guess it’s a little like being asked “How beautiful was that sunrise?” I know it was beautiful, I can certainly describe lots of things, I know the night is ending and the dawn has come but there are mysteries and awe, things that have changed; it’s getting lighter. Things that remain dark; shadows still fall. I guess the whole thing seems more complex to me know.

It should just be

1. God LOVES you and offers a wonderful PLAN for your life.

2. Man is SINFUL and SEPARATED from God. Therefore, he cannot know and experience God’s love and plan for his life.

3. Jesus Christ is God’s ONLY provision for man’s sin. Through Him you can know and experience God’s love and plan for your life.

4. We must individually RECEIVE Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord; then we can know and experience God’s love and plan for our lives.

(Hmm…I wonder why I feel like heretic may be shouted here shortly). I don’t disagree with much of what we just read in red( 🙂 ). I think what’s written in red certainly plays a part in what it means to be saved and how to “get”saved” but I don’t think this is the whole story. Here are some of the issues I have with the red words. To individualistic. I know it’s a personal thing but I don’t think there is such a thing as individualism outside of community. You will only be a true individual when you are in true community with people. So it’s not just about you as you make this decision. Christianity is not a fast track thing to the unfolding of a personal fulfillment of the American Dream. It is about joining with God and His people in the redemption of creation. The wonderful PLAN for your life, may mean that all your previous precious plans just got canceled, that now then you have to lay down your life for others. The whole purpose of being, getting, staying saved is not for the safe guarding and maintenance of your life, it is not a way for you to get ahead. It could possibly, although we don’t see it much in our part of the world, mean that you lose your life. But God loves you. that’s for sure.

Man is SINFUL and SEPARATED from God. Yes, no disagreement there., however, I am not comfortable with the categorization of sin and separation that has taken place. Somehow we have created a special category for sin. It is removed from daily life and relationships in general and has become almost a separate dimension. Sin is bad because sin is bad not so much because of what sin does. I think this is why we see so little difference in Christians and Non-Christians. Sin has become something supernatural that I am to feel bad about but not necessarily do something about. Same thing about separation. Sure there is a separation from God but is that the whole story. In some ways God is also close to the sinner as a sinner, isn’t He? There are many things from God we share with the unrighteous, the creation, justice, things like that. I agree with the sin does cause distance from God, but I am curious about who puts that distance into play, Humans or God?

Ok, I am going to break my new years resolution and continue another time…

~ by Rickard on January 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
