Book I’m reading

I got to hang out with Mike King and Chris Folmsbee a little and it was a incredibly encouraging. I really like these guys, they are passionate about youth, they understand and live the whole “missional” thing. I wished I could have spent more time with them because I could tell that I had a lot to learn from them and they are gracious teachers. I have felt such discouragement in regards to youth ministry, I don’t even like the word but these two guys brought some hope and excitement back for me and I am really excited. I am reading Mike’s book ;

Presence-centered Youth Ministry:

Guiding Students into Spiritual Formation

      Book Cover

It’s a must read book if you are working with youth, even if you are not working at a church with a youth group, but work with youth in other an context, like me, you will get such encouragement and you’ll be challenged and find new imagination as to what it means to really work with teens and youth. I’ll blogg some more this week about the Book. I also ordered Chris Folmsbee’s book ;

“A New Kind of Youth Ministry”

      book cover II

and Andrew Root’s;

Revisiting Relational Youth Ministry: From a Strategy of Influence to a Theology of Incarnation

Book Cover III

I can’t wait. I’ll keep you posted. If you know of any other really great youth “Ministry” books, let me know.

And now to something completely different…It’s Valentine’s Day and I want to give a huge shout-out to my wife, the love of my life, my best friend, my ally…

We joke about me running of with a younger bomb shell of a thing during my coming mid-life crisis, but I always come back to that I don’t think anyone else could or would put up with me, or my strange humor and my extreme stubbornness. No one else would or could listen to my strange, wild, deep musings about life and theology and smile and tell me to go back to doing the dishes 🙂 . So babe;

No one loves me like you do and you are delicious…

Valentine

~ by Rickard on February 14, 2008.

5 Responses to “Book I’m reading”

  1. Awe baby, you are so sweet, and I wouldn’t want to face lifes many wo’s with with anyone else but you!

  2. Thanks i will definately read it! God Bless!

  3. […] Chris Folmsbee writes about his meeting with Rickard last week and his take on the work there. Rickard talks about the meeting as well, with what appears to be a good book recommendation for anyone in youth ministry… […]

  4. Rickard reading a book? mmmmm…isn’t that an oxmymoron!

    Love ya,
    Robin

  5. Hehehe Robin, it is not known to many but I do read books, sometimes with my 7 year old

Leave a Reply

 
